Für die deutsche Version hier klicken

David Bischoff, Copyright: unknown

David Frederick Bischoff
born: 12-15-1951
in: Washington, D.C.


The Crow by James O'Barr

1976 .|. The Seeker (with Chris Lampton)
1977 .|. The Phantom of the Opera
1977 .|. Strange Encounters
1978 .|. Forbidden World (with Ted White)
1979 .|. Nightworld
1979 .|. Tin Woodman (with Dennis R. Bailey)
1980 .|. Star Fall: A Space Fantasy
1981 .|. The Vampires of Nightworld
1981 .|. Dragonstar, No. 1-4
     (with Thomas F. Monteleone)
1982 .|. Star Spring
1982 .|. Star Spring: A Space Operetta
     (Star Fall, No. 2)
1982 .|. The Selkie (with Charles Sheffield)
1983 .|. Mandala
1983 .|. Wargames (novelization)
1983 .|. Day of the Dragonstar
     (with Thomas F. Monteleone)
1984 .|. Search for Dinosaurs
      (Time Machine, No. 2)
1985 .|. Night of the Dragonstar
     (with Thomas F. Monteleone)
1985 .|. The Destiny Dice (The Gaming Magi, Book 1)
1985 .|. Wraith Board (Gaming Magi, Book 2)
1985 .|. The Crunch Bunch
1985 .|. The Infinite Battle (Starhounds, No. 1)
1985 .|. Galactic Warriors (Starhounds, No. 2)
1985 .|. Forbidden World (with Ted White)
1985 .|. Tin Woodman
     (with Dennis Bailey)
1986 .|. The Manhattan Project (Novelization)
1986 .|. The Macrocosmic Conflict (Starhounds, No. 3)
1986 .|. The Unicorn Gambit (The Gaming Magi, Book 3)
1987 .|. Some kind of wonderful
1988 .|. The Blob (Novelization)
1988 .|. Gremlins 2: The New Batch (Novelization)
1989 .|. Dragonstar Destiny (with Thomas F. Monteleone)
1990 .|. Abduction: The Ufo Conspiracy
1991 .|. Deception (The Ufo Conspiracy, No. 2)
1991 .|. Revelation (The Ufo Conspiracy, No. 3)
1991 .|. Bill, the Galactic Hero on the Planet of
      Tasteless Pleasure (with Harry Harrison)
1991 .|. Daniel Pinkwater's Night of the Living Shark
1992 .|. Bill, the Galactic Hero on the Planet of
      the Hippies from Hell (with Harry Harrison)
1993 .|. Grounded (Star Trek TNG, No. 25)
1993 .|. Dr. Dimension (with John DeChancie)
1993 .|. Aliens: Genocide
1993 .|. Riverworld: Nevermore
     (with Dean Weasley Smith)
1994 .|. Aliens vs. Predator: Hunters Planet
     (with Steve Perry)
1994 .|. seaQuest DSV: The Ancient
1994 .|. The Judas Cross (with Charles Sheffield)
1994 .|. Masters of Spacetime (Dr. Dimension, No. 2)
     (with John DeChancie)
1995 .|. The Deity-Father (Space Precinct, No. 1)
1995 .|. Demon Wing (Space Precinct, No. 2)
1995 .|. Hackers
1996 .|. Alien Island (Space Precinct, No. 3)
1997 .|. Dr. Dimension (Audio Book)
1998 .|. The Crow: Quoth the Crow .|. Bookworm's Comment
1998 .|. The Best of Pirate Writings: Tales of Fantasy,
     Mystery & Science Fiction
     (with Edward J. III McFadden [Ed.]
     and Christine Beckert)
2000 .|. Philip K. Dick High
2000 .|. Tripping the Dark Fantastic
2000 .|. J.R.R. Tolkien University
2000 .|. Perchance to Dream
2001 .|. The Diplomatic Touch
2002 .|. Farscape 3: Ship of Ghosts
2002 .|. Jack London, Star Warrior
2002 .|. The H.P. Lovecraft Institute
2002 .|. Tarzan the Terrible
2003 .|. Nightworld
2004 .|. The Tawdry Yellow Brick Road
As Mark Grant:
1991 .|. Mutants Amok
1991 .|. Mutants Amok #2: Mutant Hell
1991 .|. Mutants Amok #3: Rebel Attack
1991 .|. Mutants Amok #4: Holocaust Horror
1992 .|. Mutants Amok #5:
     Mutants Amok at Christmastime
As Michael F.X. Milhaus:
1985 .|. A Personal Demon
     (with Rich Brown, Linda Richardson)

The Crow - Quoth the Crow.
"The Crow - Quoth the Crow" (HarperPrism, Paperback, Third Edition, 2000, read: October 00)
"At our human limits, when we've gone as far as flesh and imagination can take us, we meet the Eternal One. The Crow. Immemorially old, and inconsolable, he is there only for those who seek both revenge and love, and are willing to go all the way - and beyond.

William Blessing is obsessed with Edgar Allan Poe. Like Poe, he is a writer of dark fantasy. And like Poe, he has powerful enemies. One of them pretends to be a friend, even as he plots to murder William and steal his wife. Blessing's only hope is to learn the truth about his "friend" before -
But this is the realm of the Crow, where the grave is the doorway to truth. William must walk through it to discover Poe's final secret. Then, and only then, with the help of a dark-winged "Raven", can he return to feed on the human carrion who raped his wife and slaughtered his soul."

The pattern is known from movies, the TV-series, comics and other novels: a dead person comes back with the help of the Crow to avenge his wrongful death. He gets a second chance, his death is atoned for and the bad guys get punished. In this case the good guy is William Blessing, an Edgar Allen Poe expert and author. After he's murdered out of greed he can get revenge and prevent his wife from making a terrible mistake. Nothing more needs to be said about the story because that is the heart of it.
After Poppy Z. Brite's 'The Lazarus Heart' and Chet Williamson's 'Clash by Night' this is the third 'The Crow'-novelization I've read. Like the others it's based on the comic by James O'Barr but it shows the handwriting of it's author. David Bischoff knows his Edgar Allen Poe and this is what makes the book remarkable. Every chapter starts with a Poe-quote matching the content. And the quotes go all the way through the story.
Only the ending, or the first part of it, is so bad I just thought that the author couldn't be serious about it. But anyone who is willing to overlook this and knows a little bit of Poe will find the story very entertaining and worth reading.

By the way, the title is a quote of Edgar Allen Poe's poem 'The Raven' where it says "... Take thy beak from out my heart, and take thy form from of my door! / Quoth the Raven, 'nevermore'". And the last line is exactly what is written on Poe's tomb.
[Dorothée Büttgen, December 00]

More great reviews at Bookworm's Lair:

Poppy Z. Brite - Exquisite Corpse     Todd Komarnicki - Famine     Chet Williamson - The Crow: Clash by Night

back to the main page of Bookworm's Lair

© Cookie Design 2000-2007